Eight components of yoga [ edit ]

Eight components of yoga [ edit ]

  • Kriya Yoga is closely related onesto Karma Yoga, which is also expounded sopra Chapter 3 of the Bhagavad Camminata, where Arjuna is encouraged by Krishna sicuro act without attachment esatto the results or fruit of action and activity. It is the yoga of selfless action and service.
  • Ashtanga Yoga describes the eight limbs that together constitute Raja Yoga.

Patanjali begins his treatise by stating the purpose of his book sopra the first sutra, followed by defining the word “yoga” durante his second sutra of Book 1:

This terse definition hinges on the meaning of three Sanskrit terms. I. K. Taimni translates it as “Yoga is the inhibition ( nirodha? ) of the modifications ( v?tti ) of the mind ( citta )”. Swami Vivekananda translates the sutra as “Yoga is restraining the mind-stuff (Citta) from taking various forms (Vrittis).” Edwin Bryant explains that, esatto Patanjali, “Yoga essentially consists of meditative practices culminating sopra attaining verso state of consciousness free from all modes of vive or discursive thought, and of eventually attaining per state where consciousness is unaware of any object external sicuro itself, that https://datingranking.net/it/pink-cupid-review/ is, is only aware of its own nature as consciousness unmixed with any other object.”

1. Yamas [ edit ]

Yamas are ethical rules sopra Hinduism and can be thought of as moral imperatives. The five yamas listed by Patanjali durante Yogasutra 2.30 are:

(??????): Nonviolence, non-harming other living beings (????): truthfulness, non-falsehood (??????): non-stealing (??????????): chastity, marital fidelity or sexual restraint (?????????): non-avarice, non-possessiveness

Patanjali, in Book 2, explains how and why each of the above self restraints help in the personal growth of an individual. For example, sopra verse II.35, Patanjali states that the virtue of nonviolence and non-injury to others (Ahimsa) leads puro the abandonment of enmity, per state that leads the yogi to the perfection of inner and outer amity with everyone, everything.

2. Niyama [ edit ]

The second component of Patanjali’s Yoga path is called niyama, which includes virtuous habits, behaviors and observances (the “dos”). Sadhana Pada Verse 32 lists the niyamas as:

: purity, clearness of mind, speech and body : contentment, acceptance of others, acceptance of one’s circumstances as they are mediante order esatto get past or change them, optimism for self : persistence, perseverance, austerity : study of Vedas (see Sabda in epistemology section), study of self, self-reflection, introspection of self’s thoughts, speeches and actions : contemplation of the Ishvara (God/Supreme Being, Brahman, True Self, Unchanging Reality)

As with the Yamas, Patanjali explains how and why each of the above Niyamas help durante the personal growth of an individual. For example, sopra verse II.42, Patanjali states that the virtue of contentment and acceptance of others as they are (Santo?a) leads puro the state where inner sources of joy matter most, and the craving for external sources of pleasure ceases.

3. Asana [ edit ]

?????????????? ????Translation 1: An asana is what is steady and pleasant. Translation 2: Motionless and Agreeable form (of staying) is Asana (yoga posture).

Asana is thus verso posture that one can hold for a period of time, staying relaxed, steady, comfortable and motionless. Patanjali does not list any specific asana, except the terse suggestion, “posture one can hold with agio and motionlessness”. Ara?ya translates verse II.47 of Yoga sutra as, “asanas are perfected over time by relaxation of effort with meditation on the infinite”; this combination and practice stops the quivering of body. The posture that causes pain or restlessness is not verso yogic posture. Other secondary texts studying Patanjali’s sutra state that one requirement of correct posture is preciso keep breast, neck and head erect (proper spinal posture).

Call Now !
icons8-exercise-96 chat-active-icon chat-active-icon